Varsity Food Allergy Information
At The Varsity, a top priority is always the health and safety of our guests. As part of this ongoing commitment, we provide the most current allergen menu information available from our food suppliers on the most common allergens to help our guest with food allergies to make informed food selections. Every effort is made to keep this information current. However, it is possible that ingredient changes and substitutions may occur due to the supplier based changes. Certain menu items may vary from restaurant to restaurant and may not be available at all locations. If you have a food allergy, we recommend you consult with your physician prior to making a decision as to whether or not to eat any Varsity product. We also highly recommend that our guests with food allergies or special dietary needs consult with a restaurant manager prior to placing an order to ensure the posted information is accurate and represents the menu items sold at that particular location.
We have prepared this suggested list of beverage and menu options based on the most current ingredient information from our food suppliers and their stated absence of the particular allergen within these items. Please be aware that during normal operations involving shared cooking and preparation areas, including common fryer oil, the possibility exists for food items to come in contact with other food products. Due to these circumstances, we are unable to guarantee that any menu items can be completely free of allergens.
The following is not all inclusive and is based on the most frequently referenced allergies from our customers in the past. Some customers may have other allergies not addressed here and will need to consult with their physician on a case by case basis to determine if they can eat a Varsity product.
The Varsity only uses pure canola oil for frying, which has no trans fats, no cholesterol and very low saturated fat.
Our hotdogs are all beef.
Our Onion Rings do have milk, wheat gluten, eggs and soy in them.
Our Mayfield ice cream flavors contain some of the following allergens, milk, nuts, tree nuts, coconuts, egg, soy, wheat and the food color yellow #5.
Mayfield Ice Cream Allergen Info:
We have no fish or shellfish menu items or ingredients.
We do not have any items that contain M.S.G. ( Monosodium Glutamate ).
We do not have any regular menu items that contain the food color yellow #5, only 3 flavors from the ice creams noted above from the desert menu contain yellow #5.
Please be aware that our French fries are cut fresh through out the day and are cooked in pure canola oil, but they are cooked in the same area/fryers as the chicken fingers which contain wheat gluten and egg and the onion rings which contain wheat gluten, milk, egg, and soy.
We have provided a list of recommended menu items by allergy below:
Suggested menu items for Peanuts and Tree Nuts Allergies:
Suggested menu items for Wheat / Gluten Allergies or Celiac Disease:
Suggested menu items for Milk Allergies:
Suggested menu items for Egg Allergies:
Suggested menu items for Soy Allergies:
Again, please consult with your physician before trying any of the above Varsity products to ensure they will be safe for your particular allergy.